Professors and research areas

Biology Graduate Program Committee

Albertazzi Castro Federico, Dr.rer.nat.         federico.albertazzi@ucr.ac.cr
Molecular plant biology with an emphasis on Organelles.

Alvarado Barrientos Juan José, Dr.                juanalva76@yahoo.com
Coral reef ecology. Taxonomy and ecology of echinoderms. Marine conservation.

Ávalos Rodríguez Gerardo, PhD.                    faetornis@yahoo.com
Ecophysiology and biomechanics of tropical plants. Ecology of tropical bird fragmentation. Tropical ecology and conservation.

Barrantes Montero Gilbert, PhD.                   gbarrantes59@yahoo.com
Ornithology and animal behavior.

Blanco Coto Mario Alberto, PhD.                   mario.blancocoto@ucr.ac.cr
Taxonomy and systematics of angiosperms (especially Orchidaceae). Vascular plant morphology. Pollination biology.

Bolaños Vives Federico, M.Sc.                        federico.bolanos@ucr.ac.cr
Conservation, systematics, ecology and behavior of amphibians and reptiles.

Briceño Lobo Daniel R., M.Sc.                        daniel.briceno@ucr.ac.cr
Reproductive behavior of insects. Acoustic communication of insects.

Camacho García Yolanda, PhD.                     ycamacho_99@yahoo.com
Systematics, phylogeny, molecular biology, and biogeography of marine mollusks with an emphasis on heterobranchs.

Cascante Marín Alfredo, PhD.                       alfredo.cascante@ucr.ac.cr
Ecology and floristics of epiphytic plants.

Chavarría Soley Gabriela, PhD.                    gabriela_chaso@hotmail.com
Human Genetics. Genetic Epidemiology.

Chaverri Echandi Priscila, PhD.                   priscila.chaverriechandi@ucr.ac.cr
Systematics, evolution and phylogeny of ascomycete fungi important in agriculture and natural forests.

Cortés Núñez Jorge, PhD.                                jorge.cortes@ucr.ac.cr
Coral Reefs. Biodiversity of marine invertebrates. Ecology. Natural and anthropogenic impacts in coastal areas.

Espinoza Mendiola Mario, Dr.                       marioespinozamen@gmail.com
Ecology and behavior of marine predators.

Fernández García Cindy, Dra.                        cindy.fernandezgarcia@ucr.ac.cr
Algae, phycology, ecology and taxonomy of marine macroalgae.

Fernández Otárola Mauricio, Dr.                  maufero@gmail.com
Reproductive ecology of plants (pollination and seed dispersal); Population demographic models; Intra and interspecific interactions and use of space; Tropical trees.

Fuchs Castillo Eric, PhD.                                 eric.fuchs@ucr.ac.cr
Genetics of tropical plant and tree populations. I study the effects of tropical forest fragmentation and deforestation on reproductive success and gene flow in vulnerable or endangered species.

Gatica Arias Andrés, Dr. sc. agr.                    andres.gatica@ucr.ac.cr
Plant cell, tissue and organ culture. Genetic transformation of plants. Molecular biology of plants.

Hanson Snortum Paul E., PhD.                       paul.hanson@ucr.ac.cr
Hymenoptera. Systematic. Parasitoids. Biologic control. Plant galls.

Karkashian Córdoba James, PhD.                  james.karkashian@ucr.ac.cr
Plant virology. Molecular biology.

Karremans Adam P., Dr.                                  akarremans@gmail.com
Ecology, evolution, phylogenetics and systematics of Orchidaceae. With a special interest in epiphytic taxonomy, diversification of Neotropical orchids and the ecological relationships of plants with their pollinators and seed dispersers.

Leal Esquivel Alejandro, Dr.rer.nat.              alejandro.leal@ucr.ac.cr
Molecular human genetics, inherited diseases, gene mapping, neurogenetics.

Lobo Segura Jorge Arturo, PhD.                      jorgelobosegura@gmail.com
Population genetics, gene flow in plants, forest fragmentation. Pollination and phenology of tropical plants.

Molina Ureña Helena, PhD.                              helena.molina@ucr.ac.cr
Ichthyology. Biological Oceanography. Ichthyoplankton. Reef Fish Ecology and Conservation.

Morales Ramírez Álvaro, Dr.rer.nat.             alvaro.morales@ucr.ac.cr
Abundance, distribution, composition, and biomass of marine zooplankton. Plant populations herbivory. Marine zooplankton biodiversity. Integrated management of the coast.

Morales Sánchez Carlos O., Dr.rer.nat.         carlos.moralessanchez@ucr.ac.cr
Systematics and taxonomy of vascular plants. Forest regeneration. Ethnobotany. Plant morphology.

Ramírez Mayorga Vanessa, Dra.                    vanessa.ramirez@ucr.ac.cr
Epidemiology. Cancer. Mutagenesis pesticides biomarkers.

Raventós Vorst Henriette, M.Sc.                    henriette.raventos@ucr.ac.cr
Genetic neuropsychiatry, gene mapping for complex diseases, population structure, mental health, and human rights.

Retana López Marco V., M.Sc.                       biretana@gmail.com
Environmental management and sustainable development.

Rodríguez Herrera Bernal, PhD.                  bernal.rodriguez@ucr.ac.cr
Mastozoology.

Rojas Jiménez Keilor O.                                  keilor.rojas@ucr.ac.cr
Genetics, biodiversity, and ecology of microorganisms.

Romero Vásquez Adarli, PhD.                       adarli.romero@ucr.ac.cr
Neurophysiology. Physiology of animal behavior.

Sandoval Vargas Luis A., Dr.                          biosandoval@hotmail.com
Ornithology and bioacoustics.

Sasa Marín Mahmood, PhD.                          msasamarin@gmail.com
Neotropical herpetology, toxinology, evolution of poisoning mechanisms, conservation.

Sibaja Cordero Jeffrey, Dr.                              jeffry.sibaja@ucr.ac.cr
Ecology of the benthos. Marine Invertebrate Biology. Polychaete Taxonomy.

Silva Benavides Margarita, Dr.rer.nat.         margari50@yahoo.com
Mangrove ecology and management. Biotechnology and taxonomy of microalgae.

Solís Ramos Laura Yesenia, PhD.                   catleyasp@hotmail.com
Biotechnology and genetic transformation.

Springer Springer Monika, M.Sc.                    monika.springer@ucr.ac.cr
Taxonomy and Ecology of Aquatic Insects. Biomonitoring and water quality studies with bioindicators. Conservation and management of continental aquatic environments.

Umaña Villalobos Gerardo, M.Sc.                   gerardo.umana@ucr.ac.cr
Limnology. Ecology of freshwater plankton. Ecology of lakes, rivers, and reservoirs. Aquatic pollution.

Vincent Rossi Andrea, Dr.                                 vincent.andrea@gmail.com
Ecosystem ecology, climate change, biogeochemistry, soil science, plant ecology.

Wehrtmann Ingo, Dr.rer.nat.                          ingo.wehrtmann@ucr.ac.cr
Aquatic biodiversity, ecology of marine invertebrates, reproduction of decapod crustaceans, aquaculture, environmental education, integrated management of coastal resources. fishery-biology.

List of professors and research areas

Amit Rojas Ronit, Dra.                                     jaguar.rar@gmail.com
Interactions between humans and wildlife, interdisciplinary ecology.

Acuña Castillo Rafael, Dr.                              rafael.asurbanipal@gmail.com
Systematics and phylogenetics in seed plants.

Alvarado Barboza Gilbert, Dr.                     gilbert.alvarado@ucr.ac.cr
Comparative and experimental pathology of wild animals. Conservation of endangered species of amphibians. Animal welfare in experimental processes.

Araya Salas Marcelo, Dr.                               marcelo.araya@ucr.ac.cr
Ornithology.

Arévalo Hernández Edgardo, Dr.                jose.arevalohernandez@ucr.ac.cr
Ecology and conservation of terrestrial ecosystems.

Breddy Shadid, Odalisca, Dra.                     odaliscab@gmail.com
Taxonomy and systematics of octocorals and antipatharians. Electron Microscopy Specialist.

Chacón Madrigal Eduardo, Dr.                    edchacon@gmail.com
Invasive species. Plant biogeography.

Chaverrí Echandi Gloriana, Dra.               gchaverri@upacificosur.org
Behavioral ecology, sensory ecology, social communication, social systems, shelter ecology.

Gutiérrez Fonseca Pablo, Dr.                      pablo.gutierrezfonseca@ucr.ac.cr
Aquatic Resources.

Malespín Bendaña Wendy K., M.Sc.          wendy.malespin@ucr.ac.cr
Genetic factors involved in the development of gastrointestinal cancers.

Mardones Hidalgo Melissa, Dra.               melissa.mardones@ucr.ac.cr
Ecology, taxonomy and systematics in fungi and plants.

Miranda Garnier Ximena, M.Sc. and M.Ed.    ximemirandag@gmail.com
Entomology and education.

Samper Villarreal Jimena, Dra.                 jimena.sampervillarreal@ucr.ac.cr
Marine ecology, marine botany, mangroves, seagrasses, marine macroalgae, carbon sequestration and integrated coastal management.

Soley Guardia Fernando, Dr.                    fgsoley@gmail.com
Animal behavior, animal cognition and sensory ecology. Insects

Soley Guardia Mariano, Dr.                     mariano.soley@ucr.ac.cr
Biogerography. Modeling of ecological niche and geographic distribution of species.

Stynoski Jennifer Lynn, Dr.                      jennifer.stynoski@ucr.ac.cr
Developmental biology, ecology, behavior, herpetology.

Willink Castro Beatriz, Dra. Beatriz         willink@ucr.ac.cr
Evolutionary biology